What are the Seven Deadly Sins?

The seven deadly sins are pride, envy, greed, lust, gluttony, anger, and sloth. They are also known as the cardinal sins or capital vices. These seven sins are considered to be the origin or root cause for other sins.

Pride: Pride or vanity is characterized by an inordinate self esteem. It shows that one considers oneself more important than others. Of the seven deadly sins, this one is regarded as the most serious as it leads straight to damnation.

In fact, it is believed to be the source of all other sins and vices. In addition, it is often associated with the demon Lucifer and is represented by the color violet.

He is a fallen Archangel who had been who had rebelled against God because of the sin of Pride. Hence, he was banished from the skies.

“When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.”
~ Proverbs 11:2

Envy: Envy or jealousy is the self absorbed desire to have what others have including, their status, abilities, beauty, possessions, etc.

Thus, it fills one with bitterness, thereby leading to one’s own destruction. It is associated with the demon Leviathan and is represented by the color green.

Greed: Greed or avarice refers to excessive desire and pursuit for material wealth and gain, regardless of the spiritual nature. It is associated with the demon Mammon and represented by the color yellow.

Lust: Lust is usually associated with the demon Asmodeus and is considered the root of all evil. More often than not, it involves obsessive or excessive desire for the pleasures of the body, particularly those that are sexual in nature. It is represented by blue color.

Gluttony: It is associated with the Beelzebub demon and is represented by the color orange. Simply put, it is an over-indulgence in food or drink, to the point of waste. It is similar to greed, and shows lack of discipline and manners.

Anger: Anger, wrath, or rage means an inordinate feeling of displeasure or hostility that puts one in such a state that it almost becomes impossible to see the truth. It is associated with the Amon or Satan and is represented with the color red.

Sloth: Sloth can be defined as spiritual as well as physical laziness. Plus, it brings about a lack of interest or concern in all the matters, even the important ones.

In early Christian times, it was called the sin of sadness. Sloth is associated with the demon Belphegor and represented by light blue color.

“The soul of the sluggard desireth, and hath nothing: but the soul of the diligent shall be made fat.”
~ Proverbs 13:4

Like there are the Seven Deadly Sins, there are also Seven Capital Virtues or Heavenly Virtues. They are:

  • Humility- It refers to modest behavior which encourages us to give respect to others. Hence, it is the opposite of pride.
  • Kindness- opposite of envy
  • Charity- charity or altruism is the opposite of greed.
  • Chastity- opposite of lust
  • Temperance- opposite of gluttony
  • Patience- patience, forbearance, and endurance are opposite of anger
  • Diligence- diligence, action, and commitment are opposite of sloth or apathy.