Angels in Christianity

The concept of angelic beings is quite common in Christianity, along with Judaism and Islam. It is believed that these spiritual beings were created by God, before the creation of the world.

They are also referred to as God’s messengers but are different from spirit guides as angels do not incarnate but the latter can take a human form. The angels glorify God and the ministers of God, that is, His representatives.

These benevolent celestial beings assist, guide, and protect us when we call for help. Thus, they serve as intermediaries between Heaven and Earth. Furthermore, all of us have Guardian Angels who comfort us during difficult times.

The guardian angels, in turn, are supervised by the powerful and pervasive Archangels such as Michael and Gabriel. Thus, angels and archangels come to our assistance when we call them sincerely.

Besides, angels are classified in different orders known as “Angelic Choirs”. They are:

First Sphere

The first sphere includes Seraphim, Cherubim, and Thrones. These messengers of God serve as heavenly counselors and they are closest to God.

Seraphim are believed to be the highest in the angelic class. They have six wings and emit bright light that even the other angels cannot look upon them.

Coming to Cherubim, they guard the way to the tree of life situated in the Garden of Eden. In the modern times, they are often confused with Putti, the winged baby-like spiritual beings.

The Thrones, also known as Ophanim, Elders, and Erelim, are the carriers of the throne of God. They are referred to as “the wheels of galgallin” too as they appear as four eye-covered wheels beneath God’s throne and symbolize His justice and authority.

“For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him.”
~ Colossians 1:16

Second Sphere

The second sphere angels include Dominions, Virtues, and Powers or Authorities. These celestial beings work as heavenly governors.

For instance, Dominions, holding the golden staff and the seal of God, regulate the duties of lower angels and even preside over nations.

Virtues, also referred to as Strongholds supervise the movements of heavenly bodies (star, planets, galaxies, etc.) and preside over the process of celestial life. In addition, they govern nature on earth. They beam out immense divine energy.

Powers or Authorities are the bearers of conscience that collaborate with the Principalities (Rulers). These keepers of our collective history also battle during heavenly warfare.

Plus, it is believed that they guide our transition to heaven after death. Thus, they are referred to the angels of death and rebirth.

Third Sphere

The third sphere of angels includes Principalities or Rulers, Archangels, and Angels. They act as heavenly messengers and soldiers.

The last sphere of Angels mentioned here refers to the Guardian Angels. They are closest to humanity as they guard us at the time we need them and gradually guide us to a greater consciousness.

Coming to the Archangels, the New Testament mentions the names of only two of them, that is, Michael and Gabriel. Generally, it is believed that there are seven Archangels.

“But even the archangel Michael, when he was disputing with the devil about the body of Moses, did not himself dare to condemn him for slander but said, “The Lord rebuke you!”
~ Jude 1:9

Furthermore, Principalities are beyond the Archangels. They carry out the orders of the Dominions and serve as guardian angels for large groups such as nations and leaders of the world.