The Meaning of Numbers in Bible

The Bible provides thorough insight and inspiration concerning all the aspects of life, such as wealth, marriage, death, salvation, serving humanity, etc. Plus, it also offers a study of numbers, referred to as Biblical Numerology.

Thus, numbers are believed to have a spiritual significance and deep prophetic importance. In fact, numbers carrying spiritual meaning and symbolism can be found throughout the Bible, not just in the Old Testament.

Here is a brief study of Biblical Numerology

Number 1: It denotes unity and absolute singleness.

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one.”
~Deuteronomy 6:4

Thus, it is the God’s numbers, referring to the oneness of God. Continue reading…

Rituals in the Roman Catholic Church

The Catholic Church has a number of rituals and practices like the Mass, Baptism, Confession, receiving Communion, praying the Rosary, Last Rites, etc. The Mass, in particular, is the most important ritual in Catholics as it is the Lord’s Supper.

In fact, it is described as the “the source and summit of the Christian life.” The term Mass is derived from the Latin word ‘missa’ meaning dismissal.

It comprises four sections, that is, the Introductory Rites, Liturgy (Greek term for worship) of the Word, Liturgy of the Eucharist, and Concluding Rites.

Continue reading…

What are the Seven Deadly Sins?

The seven deadly sins are pride, envy, greed, lust, gluttony, anger, and sloth. They are also known as the cardinal sins or capital vices. These seven sins are considered to be the origin or root cause for other sins.

Pride: Pride or vanity is characterized by an inordinate self esteem. It shows that one considers oneself more important than others. Of the seven deadly sins, this one is regarded as the most serious as it leads straight to damnation.

Continue reading…

What are the Eight Beatitudes?

The Beatitudes are a set of teachings by Jesus promising happiness to those who follow them and obey the Lord. Jesus Christ delivered the Beatitudes during the Sermon on the Mount.

There are two versions of these teachings, one appearing in the Gospels of Matthew and the other in the Gospel of Luke. Of these, the one from Saint Matthew (Matthew 5:3–12) is used most commonly.

Here are the Eight Beatitudes:

  1. “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

    Continue reading…

What are the Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church?

According to the Baltimore Catechism, a sacrament is “an outward sign, instituted by Christ, to give grace.” They are ceremonies or special occasions that help one experience God’s saving presence.

They are recognized by the Roman Catholic, Eastern Catholic, and the Eastern Orthodox Churches. The seven sacraments that are regarded as instruments of God’s grace are as follows:


Baptism is the first sacrament of the Catholic Church. It is a purifying sacrament of re-birth that marks one’s entry in the Christian community. It cleanses one of sin and joins one with Christ.

Continue reading…