Popular Bible Verses for Funeral Service

When dealing with death and funerals, turning to scriptures and God’s inspired Word can be a great help. They can prove to be a source of immense comfort and encouragement.

A number of Bible quotes and verses can be of great importance in this regard as they offer strength and solace to the grieving loved ones as they speak of the love of God and an eternal life full of bliss.

Some such soothing and encouraging Bible verses are discussed below.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.”
~ 2 Corinthians 1:3-5

Continue reading…

Bible Quotes about Loss of a Loved One

The sudden loss of a loved one tends to leave the bereaved family and friends devastated. At such a difficult time, reading the Holy Bible or even a few meaningful verses can be quite comforting. It can prove to be a great source of strength, guidance, and encouragement to help you cope with the loss.

After all, the Lord cares about all His children and being omniscient and omnipotent, provides strength to them, especially when they need it the most. Continue reading…

The 12 Apostles of Jesus

Lord Jesus Christ commissioned the 12 Apostles in order to spread His teachings. Thus, the twelve apostles were the closest followers or disciples of Jesus. Basically, the word apostle refers to ‘one who is sent out’.

They travelled with Jesus Christ and learned from Him. Plus, they shared the final meal, that is, the Last Supper with Jesus the night before He was executed. They were sent out by Jesus to be His witnesses after His resurrection and ascension.

The names of the 12 apostles are listed in Matthew 10:2-4, Mark 3:14-19, and Luke 6:13-16.

“These are the names of the twelve apostles: first, Simon (who is called Peter) and his brother Andrew; James son of Zebedee, and his brother John; Philip and Bartholomew; Thomas and Matthew the tax collector; James son of Alphaeus, and Thaddaeus; Simon the Zealot and Judas Iscariot, who betrayed him.”
~ Matthew 10:2-4

Continue reading…

Fallen Angels and Demons in Christianity

Fallen angels and demons are evil entities. They have the ability to deceive people. Both these entities are usually considered the same but there is a difference between the two.

To begin with, fallen angels are more powerful than demons. Basically, they are the sons of God, or you can say the angels who rebelled against God and as a result, they were banished from Heaven. Demons, on the other hand, are disembodied spirits.

Fallen angels have their own celestial bodies. Hence, unlike demons, they need not possess other bodies. Demons, on the other hand, are wicked and unclean spirits and seek the possession of a human or animal body.

Continue reading…

Angels in Christianity

The concept of angelic beings is quite common in Christianity, along with Judaism and Islam. It is believed that these spiritual beings were created by God, before the creation of the world.

They are also referred to as God’s messengers but are different from spirit guides as angels do not incarnate but the latter can take a human form. The angels glorify God and the ministers of God, that is, His representatives.

Continue reading…

Understanding the Holy Trinity

The Holy Trinity is an extremely important yet mystical doctrine of the Christian faith. It defines ‘the only one God’ in three aspects, that is, the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.

The Father refers to God the Father (Almighty), the Son refers to Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit is the Spirit of the Lord that exists all through eternity.

According to the Trinitarian theology, God the Father is considered the eternal source of Godhead. Hence, He is considered the “origin” or “source” of the Son of god and the Holy Spirit, too.

Continue reading…

10 Important Christian Symbols

Christian symbols depict important aspects associated with Christianity and Christian ideas. Given below are some symbols that are considered important in this regard.

Alpha and Omega: These are the first and last letters of the Greek alphabet. As Christ was called the “First and the Last”, it is considered as a symbol for Christ. These letters are often combined with other Christian symbols like the Cross and Chi-rho, too.

“I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.”
~ Revelation 22:13

Continue reading…

The Meaning of Numbers in Bible

The Bible provides thorough insight and inspiration concerning all the aspects of life, such as wealth, marriage, death, salvation, serving humanity, etc. Plus, it also offers a study of numbers, referred to as Biblical Numerology.

Thus, numbers are believed to have a spiritual significance and deep prophetic importance. In fact, numbers carrying spiritual meaning and symbolism can be found throughout the Bible, not just in the Old Testament.

Here is a brief study of Biblical Numerology

Number 1: It denotes unity and absolute singleness.

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one.”
~Deuteronomy 6:4

Thus, it is the God’s numbers, referring to the oneness of God. Continue reading…

Rituals in the Roman Catholic Church

The Catholic Church has a number of rituals and practices like the Mass, Baptism, Confession, receiving Communion, praying the Rosary, Last Rites, etc. The Mass, in particular, is the most important ritual in Catholics as it is the Lord’s Supper.

In fact, it is described as the “the source and summit of the Christian life.” The term Mass is derived from the Latin word ‘missa’ meaning dismissal.

It comprises four sections, that is, the Introductory Rites, Liturgy (Greek term for worship) of the Word, Liturgy of the Eucharist, and Concluding Rites.

Continue reading…

What are the Seven Deadly Sins?

The seven deadly sins are pride, envy, greed, lust, gluttony, anger, and sloth. They are also known as the cardinal sins or capital vices. These seven sins are considered to be the origin or root cause for other sins.

Pride: Pride or vanity is characterized by an inordinate self esteem. It shows that one considers oneself more important than others. Of the seven deadly sins, this one is regarded as the most serious as it leads straight to damnation.

Continue reading…